To main content

Music prize presented

Violinist Mayumi Kanagawa was the winner of first prize at the Princess Astrid International Music Competition on Thursday evening. Her Highness Princess Astrid, Mrs Ferner presented the prize.


Ludvig Gudim of Norway won second prize. He was also awarded the Finn Audun Oftedal Memorial Scholarship as the best Norwegian contestant in the final rounds.

A total of 90 candidates from around the world applied to the competition. The international jury narrowed the field for this year’s competition down to nine violinists: two from Norway, one from Japan, four from the US, one from Germany and one from Australia. Three of these advanced to the finals held at Olavshallen in Trondheim on Thursday, 1 December.  

Keen competition

The three finalists – Ludvig Gudim (Norway), Mayumi Kanagawa (USA) and Suyeon Kang (Australia) – each performed two pieces at the final concert, which was conducted by the Finnish conductor Anna-Maria Helsing. The audience held its breath as the jury leader, Professor Else Båtnes, announced that the US violinist had won the competition. First prize includes a soloist engagement with Trondheim Symphony Orchestra as well as a cash prize.

Established in 1953

The Princess Astrid International Music Competition was established in 1953, and musicians must be under 30 years old to be eligible. The instrument featured in the competition varies and is determined from year to year. 

The competition is held every second year, alternating with the Queen Sonja International Music Competition. The event is organised by Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, and it was Finn Audun Oftedal, the orchestra’s conductor at the time, who took the initiative to introduce the prize. Pianist Kjell Bækkelund was the first to win the competition, followed by violinist Arve Tellefsen in 1956. 

Princess Astrid, Mrs Ferner is the Royal patron of the competition.



To share this on Twitter or Facebook:

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook