To main content

The Holberg Memorial Prize

The Holberg International Memorial Prize 2007 was awarded Mr Ronald Dworkin. His Royal Highness The Crown Prince presented The Prize at a ceremony in Bergen 28 November.


Ronald Dworkin has developed an original and highly influential legal theory grounding law in morality, characterized by a unique ability to tie together abstract philosophical ideas and arguments with concrete everyday concerns in law, morals, and politics.

The Ludvig Holberg Memorial fund was established in 2003 by the Norwegian Parliament. The Board of the Fund annually awards the Holberg International Memorial Prize for outstanding scholarly work in the fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology.

The Fund also awards The Nils Klim Prize to a young Nordic researcher under 35 years who has made an outstanding contribution to research within one of these fields.


Source: The Ludvig Holberg Memorial fund

To share this on Twitter or Facebook:

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook